A little off the top

 

 

Dulla1.1_02

The hard part is probably deciding the level of pixel graphics that looks both complex and artistic, yet visually pops from the background. I’m not trying to recreate handheld titles such as Link’s Awakening or Four Swords, but I am making a game that will probably end up looking a lot like them.

Since the Dullahan will often be without a head – the largest and most notable part of any sprite – I will have to be careful to make the rest of the body stand out against the background. The shield will provide the most distinction, so I will probably need to iterate on its size and color.

Dulla1.1_nohead

 

I quite enjoy mechanics that cause characters to gain or loose graphical parts, so I’d like to make the Dulla head toss as useful as possible.

Leave a comment