Down to the Pixel

Simplification

 

I’ve spent most of my adult life editing, remixing and touching up files in Photoshop. Throughout that time, I have done certain fine art pieces with the help of tablets, but it was always in place of pen and paper. Now, I’m turning to Photoshop to accomplish art that only a computer can do : pixel graphics.

Excuse for a minute – let me extol the virtues of nearest neighbor interpolation and the Offset filter. These two settings alone have really opened my eyes to the wide variety of projects Photoshop can naturally be used for. In addition to cutting away ivy, smoothing out wrinkles and blending pimples, Photoshop is helping me make my own little nostalgia trip. I made both of this little sprite concepts at 16p x 16p, and can scale them to whatever resolution I want, without all that nasty anti-aliasing and Bicubic weirdness. And that’s pretty cool for me.

.Simplification2

Leave a comment